Trail Mix Top, and a for keeps iron!

Standard

Before I could decide on whether to keep the blue Oliso, or the Tfal, I decided to give a try to the Reliable Velocity 200ir. This iron turned out to be the most expensive of the lot, as Bed Bath and Beyond does not allow their coupons for this item, but I do get their great return policy.    I had already decided to spend the big bucks so I might as well try one more.

After using the Velocity for about a week, I’ve got to say it checks all the boxes for me! Because the steam is generated by a separate motor (and turned on both by a button and by your hand on the handle) it’s off when it’s off .  So dry pressing is truly dry pressing.   The two steam settings give a good amount of steam at low, and a huge amount at high – great for ironing yardage!  The iron has a good point useful for opening up seams, and very good glide (despite the fact that as I wrote earlier that I seem to like the stainless steel sole plates – this one has some kind of treatment or coating).

The Velocity is heavy – not as heavy as the Rowenta, and maybe not as heavy as the Oliso yellow TG1600. The iron is designed in a way so that the balance when using it lessens strain from the weight.  I purchased a silicone iron rest from Bed Bath and Beyond and I’m getting into the habit of setting the iron on it when I’m needing to set the iron down while fussing with a piece or for a short time in between pieces.  I think I could leave it their as long as I’d like.   I didn’t have any problem handling the iron while pressing the pieces in this little block!  The iron has an 8 minute auto shut off, which can be deactivated.

20170309_074157

I used my new iron to prepare the backing to pin baste a quilt called Easy Street – a quilt along pattern by Bonnie Hunter (I have no idea when I made the top!).  Here’s the quilt (86″ square) all mushed up under my Juki.

20170309_074125

And, I finished the Trail Mix quilt top!  So much sewing in this quilt – right now, its 72 x 90 inches and I couldn’t get it all in the picture.   I wish I had a HUGE design board so I could have put more thought into the placement of the different types of fabrics – I think somewhere I managed to get two blocks with the same fabric next to each other (how does that happen with nearly 100 fabrics?!)  The pattern calls for two borders.  I’m tempted to skip the border but I think at least one border is needed just to calm down the quilt.  Maybe  purple?

WIN_20170309_07_44_08_Pro

 

Leave a Reply

