Cookbook Quilt Along – more thoughts

Standard

Do you have Electric Quilt software?  I’ve had it for several years and once I get drawing and playing its hard to stop!  I’ve been designing for hours while referring to Amy Gibson’s book the Quilt Block Cookbook.

As I wrote about yesterday, I’ve been thinking about her Cookbook sew along, as well as the twelve blocks I made in her 2016 Sugar Block Club.  I think I have a plan!

I’d like to make about a half dozen more blocks in solids with the same background and colours used in my Sugar Block blocks, then choosing 16 to use them in the Off The Grid quilt.

The problem is I’m really down to very small scraps in the pile of fabrics I used for those blocks – but – I think I can get away with using the colours in the yardage shown in a pic I posted yesterday.

20170111_091320-2

 

One of my favourite quilt designs that I’ve made in Electric Quilt are these two , using the block To and Fro.  The background is supposed to be mottled black – somehow in this pic it looks almost brown.  I have a roll of 6″ strips of solid fabrics, and I think I’d have fun sewing up a quilt that like one of these!

to-and-fro-dark

to-and-fro-by-nine

The second one isn’t yet coloured in solids, its coloured in the layer cake fabrics – which I guess could still be a possibility – but I think I’m going to stick to the solids.

Meanwhile,  I’m still sewing up Trail Mix, and the above are two more quilts  and I have yet another quilt in the works as well. Oh – and the 365 challenge blocks.  Time to start sewing  (and actually quilting quilts!).

I’m really good at making plans for quilts…but as my son describes it, I  think “ooh, shiny” and I’m off on another idea!

 

Leave a Reply

