Cookbook Quilt Along

Standard

I finaly got my Quilt Block Cookbook, it arrived late yesterday and I sat down with it this morning.  This is book is so well designed, with a refreshing  layout and wonderful clear pictures.  I can’t recommend this book enough…even if you never sew a block from the book – I dare you! – it will surely get your creativity flowing.

A decision should be made on how to set the dozen blocks from the Sugar Block Club.  I think I also need some idea of how many blocks I want to sew in the weekly quilt along – 52, 12″ blocks is just too many for me to not let go of my planning what to do with them.

The full quilts in the book are wonderful, and most are very large!  I’ve got my eye on “Off The Grid” .  I have a layer cake – Tucker Prairie by One Canoe Two – and solids that will coordinate.  I have a yard or so of a navy indigo mottled fabric that I can order more of.  Sixteen blocks for that quilt would make me happy!

20170110_083020

“Celestial” is the quilt that Amy suggests we use for the Sugar Block Club blocks, but all that white space of quilting kinda scares me!    But, it would be a challenge and the look of all that white is very inviting.

Looking more closely at the blocks I’ve already made, there’s a few I think I’d like to take out, and make new ones to replace them.  I’m playing on EQ with different layouts and I’ve got a few ideas, I think whatever I decide I’ll need some more background or setting fabrics so it might be a while before I can start sewing together a quilt.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

