Prepping a quilt

Standard

It really is amazing to me at what I can get done with just 15 minutes of time, many times throughout a day.  When I’m feeling crappy, yet restless, those “I’ll just do 15 minutes of this…” can add up to a lot of productivity!

Have you seen a quilt called Trail Mix from American Patchwork and Quilting?  It is a great stashbuster and makes a big quilt.  I have a drawer of scraps and I thought I’d start cutting up the pieces.  I decided to cut them up all at once, for a couple of reasons.  I wasn’t sure that I’d have enough variety in the scrap drawer, and if I needed to add bits and pieces from yardage or fat quarters they’d be spread out in to the various blocks.  Also – and this is the big bonus – once all the cutting is done, I can sit and sew anytime I like.

20161023_094947

The rotary cutting was daunting – I wouldn’t want to total how many pieces were cut.  First I started to cut the fabric into 3 1/2, 2, 1 1/2 and 1 1/4 inch strips.  From there, I started to cut strips where directed in the pattern, I also cut strips or chunks when the pattern called for 2 or more of the same size piece in the same fabric.

Then came cutting many many squares.  I started to despair at the number of 3 1/2″ squares – I was well into digging into odd yardage and leftover charm packs. I had cut too many narrow strips 😦

Finally, all done!  I started Saturday morning, and yesterday I was cutting up the neutrals, which really weren’t many at all (which is what drew me to this pattern in the first place).  All the cutting was hard work, but so worth it – I got moving, cleaned out my scraps, and have lots of sewing ready.

20161024_15164820161025_085541.jpg

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

