The Keeping – filler blocks

Standard

I’ve finished four applique blocks that will go into one unit of the Keeping.  My plan is to make four of these units which will each measure 24″ square, to set into a quilt.

Here’s a picture of my first idea for filler blocks

the keeping filler blocks

I’m not sure I’m happy with any of it right now!  The idea to make multi coloured leaves on the vine makes it look almost like a string of Christmas lights, so perhaps it needs some flower buds and/or circles?  I like the idea of the flying geese being all one colour, although whether this colour will remain with this set of applique is a question.  The star block was originally to be a basket block, and I think I should have stuck with that idea.  The colours all looks too blendy!  I’ll have to wait till I finish more applique blocks and play again with filler blocks to see what two units side by side my look like.

2 responses »

  1. I like the unit you have created. A great way to meld some applique blocks together. I am curious as to how you came up with the name “The Keeping”. I like it very much and wonder if it has meaning of some kind.

  2. A Keeping is an old-fashioned word that can mean a birthday party, an anniversary, an event to mark an occasion. My Mom has Alzheimer’s and will soon be transitioning to a full time care residence; my daughter is getting married I think next summer, following a move to a new city with her fiance; my youngest son is having trouble finding his place in the world and leaving the nest; and there’s all the unknowns in everyone’s life! In the next several months that I’ll be working on this applique, there will be plenty of moments that I will want to “Keep”.

Leave a Reply

