Quilting Little Quilts

Standard

Its always a good idea to take some time to make and quilt little quilts.   Playing with f
abric choices, design, and quilting on a small project is a great way to experiment, try out new techniques, and finish something!

This little quilt I made a while ago.  It started with an orphan block, machine applique batiks on batik, from a design in the Hop to It book by Edyta Sitar.   The border was made with leftovers from a charm pack…not a whole
charm pack, just bits left over!  And the charm pack had nothing whatsoever to do with the applique block!  Its amazing how well it went together.

hop to it

hop to it centre

For the quilting, I finally got a chance to put some bubbles-circles-pebbles into a quilt (in the centre of the wreath).  And just some outlining and wavy lines on the rest of the block.  Simple curved triangles on the inner border, and feathers on the two top and bottom borders.  I’ve pinned it on my sewing room wall with other quilts that I like to have around me to remind me that I can do this or that technique, and for inspiration.  The binding I machine sewed to the back, folded to the front, then staight stitched the binding down to the front, just a tiny bit from the folded edge.  I don’t think I’d do that again on a larger quilt!  It didn’t turn out quite as neat as I would like.

 

 

 

 

The second little quilt I finished last week.  It was a mystery by Sherri Falls at This & That Patterns.  A mystery quilt is  pretty enticing when you know it will be small, and uses very little fabric.

this and that mystery may

 

For quthis and that mystery may centreilting, I did something completely different and used my walking foot to quilt diagonal lines.  I marked lines 1″ apart (I would have normally used my disappearing marker for the lines, but now I’m in love with the frixion heat disappearing pens!).  On every other line, I quilted a straight stitch with my walking foot.   Then I used a regular foot to quilt decorative stitches on the remaining lines.  Nearly every machine manual says to not use your walking foot for decorative stitches that require backward movement (which most stitches require).  I’ve come to agree with this advice, especially for long rows of stitching or those areas with lots of seam allowances.  The decorative stitches just don’t seem to feed or form properly with a walking foot.   My first thought was to crosshatch with just straight lines, but I think that would end up cluttered.  I finished up with the binding machine sewn to the back, folded to the front, and sewn down with my favourite binding stitch, what I call a cardiac stitch (it sort of zigs and zags from a centre stitch).

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

