Barbara Brackman’s Sampler Blocks

Standard

 

 

 

 

Barbara Brackman is writing two sampler quilts this year.  One is based on the Underground Railroad (Thread of Memory), and the other on Jane Austen (Austen Family Album)

.   The history and stories that Barbara includes in her block postings makes visiting her blogs a must read, the blocks are a bonus!  She always gives pictures of how different fabrics can make up variations of the blocks.

I’ve missed out on her previous sampler block series, and this year I wanted to make sure I got involved!  It seemed I needed dental surgery to kick my butt into gear :).  Recovering from the complex tooth extraction, I muddled about until I finally came up with a combination of fabrics for Austen Family Album; I’ll be making these in a 9″ block size as I’m not entirely sure I have enough fabric for 36 – 12″ blocks!

austen family album

 

Then, I thought about making Threads of Memory as a one colour quilt, but the block designs didn’t really lend itself to that.   So I decided to use two neutrals and a colour, which works for me !  These I’ll be sewing as 6″ blocks, to make a wallhanging of some kind.

threads of memory

 

After my success with finally coming up with successful fabric combinations from my stash, I put this little group together for Pam Buda’s Market Day Sew Along.  Pretty good I think!

 

heartspun quilts  market day

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

