A Baby Quilt

Standard

Over the past few days I sewed the top of a quilt for my neice’s  baby.  I started with an idea for a block made from charm packs, presented by the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  You can see their quilt and method here. They call it simply, the half square triangle quilt.    Using charm packs is a great way to get a lot of fabrics into a small quilt with little left over.

Using Electric Quilt, I played with setting that four seasons block  (shown centre below) various ways, and then added an alternate block.  I came up with a few ideas I liked…but wanted something more!  Electric Quilt has a website, My EQ Boutique, where block designs can be purchased and some are offered for free.  There, I found a cute owl (free!) to add to the quilt.  When I set the owls into the quilt, I addded snowball corners to the block to help it blend with the other blocks. So here’s the three blocks I ended up using.

DSCF4184

And, the finished quilt.  I used “Giggles” fabric, and was lucky to find a yard of fabric on sale at Sew Sisters which matched up with the Giggles fabric pretty much perfect.  Kona cotton snow for the background, and I found the owl fabrics in my stash (!).  I used about 1 1/2 charm packs, but cut up a lot more due to a math error when making the alternate block!  The finished size is about 36 x 44.  I’m going to use a flannel backing, and maybe a cotton batting.

DSCF4185

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

