Winter’s Evening

Standard

Are you a marathon sew-er, the kind that will sew for hours if given the oppportuity?  Or are you a sprint sew-er, short runs of sewing when there is time or ability?

I am definitely a sprint sew-er, I can’t seem to sew or quilt for more than a half hour at a time, usually just 15 minutes!  On Monday and yesterday I finished up the blocks for Winter’s Evening.  It took me a day and a half to sew 14 blocks.  And while these blocks do take a lot of sewing, trimming, and pressing as you go, I’m sure that marathon sewers would have had these done in a few hours!


DSCF4162

The block design came from the book History Repeated.  I love its design…it could become my new favourite block, which is now the churn dash, except it isn’t particularly versatile.  I think this is the first quilt I’ve made with just one block in the design, also the first zig zag setting!  Now that the blocks are sewn, I’m putting all away till the fall when I’ll set them and quilt them for a cuddly winter quilt.

 

DSCF4158

Leave a Reply

