Making “Scrap” Quilt Kits

Standard

Image

My fabric stash has been slowly dwindling, so that there are only small pieces of various colours, and lots of fqs and half yards of odd fabrics that don’t seem to belong anywhere!  I haven’t been so inspired by any quilt lately…not enough to want to go grab fabric for it!  But, I like to have lots of projects on the go so I have a variety to choose from when I want to sew.  Cactus Stars has just two blocks left, Winter’s Evening has just a few left, All Roads is finishing up very soon, and Whoo Knows is a block of the month.  And I really want to learn to use up what I have!

I started by picking fabrics for Barbara Brackman’s Threads of Memory b.o.m., but despite coming up with a great fabric set (with the help of a good friend!), those fabrics just didn’t work into those blocks.  So I’m using charm squares that I had bought from Connecting Threads as samples…somehow I had ended up with three sets of squares so there’s enough for the 12 blocks, I re-drew then on EQ so that they are 9″ in size which accommodates the charm square fabric sizes,,,,and had to add a yard of background for the larger pieces.

yellow and white

Then I made piles of fabric for Celtic Solstice from Bonnie Hunter, thought I had enough of each pile, and cut up all the yellows only to discover that I really didn’t have enough of that yellow, and likely not enough of two other colours.  So what to do with those yellow strips?  I’m turning it into this yellow and white quilt (although I will likely have to add more yellow to the pile as time goes by).

smith morning mountain variation

Then from the stack of blues I had made, I added brown (I have so much brown!!) and came up with enough fabric for Bonnie Hunter’s Smith Morning Mountain, but with a little tweak which is using a black for the alternate squares instead of blue and brown.

Image

A basket of purple 6″ squares was next!  These were cut for an applique project which got stuck  due to problems with the alternate fabric.  What to do with all this purple?! There’s a basket quilt sampler in the book Jelly Roll Sampler Quilts by Pam Lintott.  I love baskets and those purple squares will do the job!

 

Image

Finally, a set of layer cakes and charm squares in a fabric line that I decided I really don’t like much…these are going into a disappearing nine patch quilt.

 

 

 

 

 

So, my shelves of projects is full again!  Not the prettiest project organization…I would love to get rid of the grey baskets!  And the green tape for labelling is a bit ugly, but it all works in the end.  (My kids once bought me a wonderful label maker which I had so much fun with, until I realized that label refills cost as much or more as the label maker itself!).

project shelves

Leave a Reply

