Monday, January 20, 2014

Standard
Yesterday I needed to quilt!  I chose to do Mexican Tiles, which is small enough for me to not get too involved and still give some time to Labyrinth.
In the Craftsy class, Design it Quilt it! that I took  several months ago, I learned a grid quilting design and ever since I’ve wanted to try this with a applique quilt.  Here’s my chance!
For the first time in machine quilting, I’m using silk thread on the top. Bottom line thread in the bobbin.  As suggested in the class, the grid lines are sewn first, then the fill.  I decided to outline the applique first, then the grid lines, then the fill.  I think for the other two appliques I will just outline as part of the grid lines/fill.  I think the thin thread is key here, as there is quite a bit of travelling on previous stitched lines. I’m happy with how its looking!
 .
Leave a Reply

