Thursday, December 12, 2013

Standard

Today I ended up planning an applique quilt using Nana’s Pantry fabrics from Connecting Threads.  I had bought a layer cake, then a couple of charm packs, not knowing what I’d do with them but definitely knowing I wanted to make something with brighter fabrics, different than my usual civil war and traditional fabrics.  Those fabrics will always be my first love, but in the past year I enjoyed using the modern fabrics in the Schoolhouse Quilt and wanted to do have one project like that again this year.  I thought maybe I’d make a sampler, but I still need an applique project.  Still sitting on the fence about Dawn Heese’s Rhapsody, and the Benjamin Biggs quilt looks good but not sure I want to do that one, already having so many red and green applique ideas.

Eventually, I came up with the idea of using Jo Morton’s Rachel’s Reel pattern and drew up this in EQ.

  I then matched all the layer cake pieces with a charm pack piece…it worked out that one layer cake and two charms will make one block.

And here is how far I got with sewing the first one!

Meanwhile, I finished unit 8 of All Roads Lead to the Sea, and tomorrow I’ll be working on December’s Whoo Knows block.  And, trying to come up with an idea for the sawtooth borders on Jacqueline’s Album!

Leave a Reply

