Saturday, October 26, 2013

Standard

Inspiration came to visit!  I had those little squares I was playing with on the design board, took them down and started looking for a setting or background fabric.  On the closet door, I have hanging two shoe organizers …they hold fat quarters, some small tools, and….orphan blocks!  Within an hour, I had made this little quilt, measuring about 14″ x18″.  That applique block (from Hop to It by Edyta Sitar)  must be at least two years old, and it finally found a home:)


Decided on using all the same background fabric for Winter’s Evening, and made two red blocks.

And, started some stitch in the ditch on the Pin Money wallhanging.  Well, my stitch in the ditch is just a smidge inside the ditch of the sashing.  I’m using my Juki F600 for this, I usually use this machine just for piecing and machine applique, but I sold my Horizon!  There was nothing wrong with it really, I just didn’t bond with it and there were few features that just irked me. I figured I could live without the extra couple of inches that the Horizon has as its bed length, and decided to go all the way back to the Janome 6500.  The dual feed foot was one thing that I always wish was smaller, and that it was shaped somehow differently so that more of the foot could be used as guide.  I think I’m doing a bit better job with the straight stitching on the F600, using just a regular walking foot.

Leave a Reply

