Friday, October 25, 2013

Standard

I sewed the two blue blocks shown here on my design wall…the pattern is called Wheel of Fortune, from the book History Repeated.

I fell in love with this block design when I first saw it, I just like the movement it has.  I’m using fat quarters from Connecting Thread’s Winters Evening collection, and I think that will be the name of this quilt, although  I was also thinking of  Cookie Plate, as the block reminds me of those cut glass plates used to serve desserts.  The setting will be vertical row zig zag.

I cut up the red pieces to make two more blocks, but I’m sitting on the fence on whether to use scrappy neutral backgrounds or all cream, as the blue ones are. I think, even though I cut  a different background for the red block, I’m leaning towards using all cream as a good contrast against the black setting triangles.

One response »

Leave a Reply

