April 30!

Standard

Its the end of April already!  What an interesting month this has been.  The weather has been the most wintery April that I can remember, even though our area often sees snow in April this year the snow and ice just didn’t want to go away!  And I’ve still been doing more resting than sewing in the studio.

The pieced hexies have been put away for now, as there is something about my idea or fabric choices that isn’t sitting right, so I’ve been on a search for a new hand sewing project (or two!).   Here’s a pic of various hand applique blocks that I started or finished…only one is going to be continued…can you guess which one?!

The top two floral blocks are from the Sally Post Floral Sampler, by Sentimental Stitches.  I had made this quilt a few years ago, gave it as gift, and wish I had one of my own!  The basket to the right is from Spring Baskets by Piece O Cake Designs, this is actually the second layout I tried but didn’t get far in sewing.  Below the basket is a bird applique that is fused and hand blanket stitched, the bird design is from Regina Grewe’s collection at EQ Boutique.  Next to the bird is a block from Whitework Sampler by the Rabbit Factory.  And above that, are two embroidered blocks from Snowbound by BunnyHill Designs.

I have also done a little bit of piecing of blocks in quilts that are in progress. And some work on changing up my colour plan for Whoo Knows, the owl quilt from Fat Cat Patterns.  Some simple loopy meandering quilting on Garden Fence is also giving me a few minutes at the machine every day!

Leave a Reply

