Quilting with confidence!

Standard

My Janome came back from the repair tech and of course he found nothing wrong!  He did give it a cleaning and a check up, and so far its behaving better.  At least I know that any problems I’m having are my “fault”, meaning time to check the needle, threading, tension, etc.

A while back I enrolled in Cindy Needham’s class at Craftsy…Design It Quilt It!.  I think I came away with a lot of good ideas, and lots more confidence in my quilting skills.

I finished this wallhanging, a variation of Pat Sloan’s Meadow Breeze, using wool applique.  I used many  ideas from Anne’s class, not so much as designs as much as how to fill the quilt with quilting!   Previous to Cindy’s class, my go to sources for free motion quilting were my videos from Patsy Thompson and the book Quilt Savvy, Machine Quilting Guidebook by Diane Gaudynski.  I sort of combined ideas and confidence from Anne, with what I had learned previously.

I quilted what I think Diane Gaudynski called `headbands`in the centre, echo quilted in the applique border, free motion lines in the first and last pieced borders, feathers in the border following the applique border, and leaves in the wide border.  Whee!  I had fun!

Then I started on `Twelve of Eleven“.  Stitched in the ditch around the blocks and border triangles. then stared at that open space between the block column.  I`ve always been scared of quilting open spaces, and scared of feathers in those open spaces, even though its something I`ve very much wanted to do.  I took a deep breath, and lookee what I did!  Am I ever happy with this!!  I don`t think I could have done it without the confidence I took from Cindy`s class.

If you look closely, you`ll see some not so nice spots and a few not so nicely formed feathers.  But I`m still so very happy that I got over this hurdle!  I`ve ordered some stencils to use on the pieced blocks, and maybe the plain squares….and I`m not sure  yet what I`m doing with the outer area of the quilt, so I`m putting this on hold for now while I tackle my son`s T shirt quilt.

One response »

Leave a Reply

