Grandmother’s Choice, colour change!

Standard

About a year ago I bought a 20 fat quarter pack of green batiks…these were on sale for a good price, and I thought I’d use them in a future applique project.  Well, I disocvered I really didn’t much like batiks for applique, and more importantly, I didn’t much want to cut into this fat quarter bundle because it was beautiful!  and my favourite colour, green!  Every few weeks, I’d take out the bundle and look at it, spread it out, and consider it for a quilt, but didn’t want to use it, lol.

Well, I finally decided its time.  I’m using those greens in the Grandmother’s Choice series quilt by Barbara Brackman.  I’m going to love this, way more than the purple.  With that bundle of greens, I had put aside some background possibilities that are white with a very light green pattern….just in case!  I think the new blocks are bright and cheery and full of hope.

 

Looking again at the purple blocks I had done originally, I think it was that darn background fabric that dragged them down.  There was no spark!  This background fabric is going somewhere far away, where it might only be used for backing.

Stitch good thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

