T Shirt Quilt

Standard

Early in the summer my oldest son dropped off a bag of T shirts and asked if would make him T shirt quilt.   As I was preparing the shirts (ripping off the back and sleeves) I was thinking of how these could be set.  The answer was pretty easy!  All the bright cartoon like colours…the shirts are a collection of “Grimm” punn-y scenes…made me think of the solid bright jelly roll strips I had bought months ago on clearance.

Almost all the drawings on the shirts fit nicely in a 12″ block, except for 2 which I joined together in to one block.  And, Fraser had given me a total of 14 shirts…which mean 12 for the quilt and a faded one for the back. A bit of doodling on EQ and here’s the centre…the quilt can be done as a Christmas gift.

Fraser’s T Shirt quilt, centre

 

I still have to design and make a border.  Pressing the seams was difficult because of the interfacing on the back of the shirts, and the t shirt “paint” c an’t be touched at all with the iron (but a pressing cloth helps).

I think the quilting will be the challenge for this quilt.  Anyone know of a batting that can be quilted 12″ apart?!!

 

One response »

  1. This is really attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay uup for in
    the huht for extra of yoyr great post. Also, I have shared your website in
    my social networks

Leave a Reply

