Weekend sewing…and un-sewing!

Standard

Here’s a pic of my first Grandmother’s Choice block.  I finally settled on purples, with black sashing.  I find its a good idea to sew the sashing on as the blocks are made; makes less work when your ready to set the quilt together!  I’ll be using the same background throughout the quilt…its part of the reason I decided to go with the purple colours.  I bought about 5 yards of this background fabric, thinking it was a lovely tone on tone background blender.  But its got this odd grey hue to it, everything I’ve tried to put with it so far has just not looked right,…but purple and black seem to be the one colour that plays nicely with this background.

Grandmother’s Choice, week one

 

The other project I got accomplished this weekend is getting My Whimsical Quilt Garden blocks sorted out.  I got them separated from the batting, and made setting blocks.  I think I’ll be calling this quilt Garden Fence.  There’ll be a light inner border and a red outer border.

 

Garden Fence layout, hand-applique blocks from My Whimsical Quilt Garden

Leave a Reply

