Show and Tell catch-up

Standard

I’ve been sewing my stitch reference samples for the Stupendous Stitching class.  This exercise helped me become familiar with the variety of stitches on my Janome and just how they might be altered.  Definitely some music or talk radio is needed in the background while stitching these – and the sew-without-a-footpedal button helps too!

I’m now half way through the applique blocks for Stars and Sprigs…20 completed, but I need to sew some stars to catch up on those.

I love all the designs in Kathy Schmitz’s book, Simple Pleasures in Redwork.  After some starts and stops on a few, I finally settled on the Summer Reigns wallhanging…one block complete!

The May second part blocks of Just Takes 2 got done by the end of last month.  Kind of happy to see no applique in the first half of June blocks!

And, I’ve been playing with wool applique scraps.  I’ve come up with a few ideas, and planned a few, and finally settled (I think!) on Meadow Breeze my Pat Sloan…I like this setting and I think I have enough scraps to make all the appliques.  This is the centre block, not yet stitched.

Tomorrow, its piecing day!  The first part June Just Takes 2 blocks, catch up on stars for Stars and Sprigs, and maybe start on Laura’s quilt border.

The Farmer’s Wife Meets Jane quilt is still sitting on the spare bed, waiting for inspiration.

Stitch good thoughts!

Leave a Reply

