Antique Sampler, centre blocks all done!

Standard

It’s a beautiful Victoria Day weekend here, even a little too warm yesterday!  I enjoyed a few early mornings sewing outside on the deck, and finished the last of the centre blocks for the Antique Sampler, designed by Sue Daley.

64 – six inch blocks, and 9 – twelve inch blocks, each with a reverse applique background, four each of sixteen different motifs on the centre,  plus three more motifs for the larger blocks, each either english paper pieced and appliqued or just appliqued.  A lot of hand sewing!!

I fell in love with this quilt just as it is shown in the pattern picture.  There was nothing I wanted to change…except maybe the centre block (which I did, by not including the red circles on the tree).  It isn’t often I see a quilt that I want just like it is, with no, well I would do this colour, or this arrangement, or that border.  I could never have kept my commitment to this quilt without doing it as a block of the month – Quilters Paradise in Clovis, California, did a wonderful job on the monthly kits; offering lots of variety of fabrics in good sizes.  Next to sew are all the outside border tongues, these are made from the fabrics that were cut from the blocks when preparing the reverse applique.

Leave a Reply

