My Whimsical Quilt Garden – Top Done!

Standard

I found myself stuck on how I how to quilt the sashings on the Honoring Emma quilt, so I found myself working on the borders of My Whimsical Quilt Garden.

It was very hard for me to settle on a border design…almost immediately after posting a design here, I changed my mind.  Something about that original design was not right.  I ended up with about 18 border designs in EQ, everything from checkerboard, to triangles, various pieced blocks.  Then once I decided on the diamonds, I played with extra borders and sizing and such. 

I thought about adding an additional border of blue (like the sashing) or background in between the quilt centre and the diamonds…but I couldn`t get the math right to keep the smaller size diamonds that I wanted…adding the additional border would have caused bigger diamonds, or a bigger border, neither choice which I wanted.  Then I thought about adding an additional skinny border between the diamonds and the outer plain area,  but that just made the outer border look out of place.

I`m pretty happy with how it turned out!

Stitch good thoughts!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

