Finishing the table runner

Standard

I didn’t want the disappearing nine patch table runner to end up in a ufo pile, waiting for binding; I also wanted to practice machine binding on it before tackling a full size quilt.  So I decided to use the multi-colour fabric as binding and it worked out great!

I do almost all my bindings completely by machine…saving the handsewing for special quilts.  I start with 2″ wide strips, iron in half lengthwise, and sew with 1/4″ seam allowance to the back.  I then bring the binding to the front and sew itdown with a blanket stitch or a decorative stitch.  This is the tricky part, that requires some practice and patience (I also remind myself that this process is still faster than hand sewing!)   To make the binding and stitching look nice on the back, you have to be sure to bring the edge of binding to the front just to the line of stitching made from the  initial sewing of the binding to the back.  I used to use pins to keep the binding in line, but these new clover binding clips are great!  I just put on a couple at a time, and I also use an awl to keep the binding up to that stitching line; I can steer the fabric with the awl up very close to the presser foot.

 I think I discovered my favourite feature of the Horizon 7700! Favourite stitch.  I played with all the blanket stitch variations, settling on the right stitch and the right width and length, then a simple touch on the screen, one more touch to confirm, and that setting for that stitch is saved forever!!

When I chose the blanket stitch, the screen told me to lower the presser foot pressure to 4, that seemed like a lot lower, so I chose 5, then realized that tthe Janome was pretty smart, and 4 was better, lol.  As I used the dual feed walking foot for sewing on the binding, I got along fine using a regular foot for the final binding.

I  used the open toe foot for sewing the binding on the quilt.  I haven’t yet bought the dual feed 1/4″ foot, and I’m not sure yet that I need it.  I used the open toe dual feed foot, and moved the needle to the right to where a 1/4″ seam can be made, keeping the dual feed on the fabric.  I easily used the right side dual feed “leg” on the edge of the fabric to make the 1/4″ seam.  Again, the favourite stitch!  I picked the piecing stitch, which is just a straight stitch with a small stitch width, and altered it to the right needle position and a longer stitch length, pushed a couple of buttons, and there’s my go to 1/4″ seam!

I have the “pick up sticks” quilt all sandwiched and ready to quilt.  My husband is making noises like he might set my machine into my table for me.  Oh, how nice that will be!  Since we moved house last summer, I am so enjoying my good-sized sewing room, and the icing on the cake will be to have my new machine set flat…no more getting that quilt hung up on the extension table!

 

Posted by Picasa
One response »

Leave a Reply

