Just Takes 2, February part two

Standard

Here’s a pic of my red and white February blocks.  Haven’t yet done the applique on the one block at the bottom of the picture.

There’s been a lot of paper piecing on these blocks!  Thank goodness I’ve developed good skills and patience with paper piecing since working on  my Dear Jane quilt blocks.  I don’t like paper piecing!! and I would never do a whole quilt of all pp blocks, but I have learned to get along with the method when needed.

The Pine Burr block, upper left, required both paper piecing for the centre and points; and templates or handpiecing for the white outer “frame”.  In this case, I like to starch the heck out of the paper pieced section, carefully pressing not ironing, till its as stiff as paper.  Then I remove the paper foundation, and add the template cut pieces.  This reduces the bulk and makes it much easier for sewing.

Leave a Reply

