Free Motion Quilting Challenge…Feathers!

Standard

My new Horizon 7700 arrived yesterday and I am so happy to have it in my sewing room! I could go on and on about how much I think I already love it, but right now I’d rather talk about free motion feathers 😦

Who knew that when I decided to commit to the free motion quilting challenge, first there’d be leaves, which I’ve struggled with, then feathers, which have definitely been on my “do not do that on any quilt anyone would see” list, lol.  I can fee motion quite a few doodles and designs, but feathers, oh my.

So reading Diane Gaudynski’s tutorial, this is what I came up with.  No.1 on the top left looks like a feather!  No. 2 is even a bit better.  Then I just lost it. I couldn’t make a shape right, and i didn’t care to echo properly!!

.
Okay.  Time to gain some control.   I decided to go try working from top to bottom….this seems to be working much better!!  Number 3 is pretty good!  Then, just when I think I’m getting the hang of it, what happened at the end of number 4…just like the top of number 2??

I still feel  that I could benefit from some kind of shape drawn on the quilt…I quickly lose the shape of the teardrop, as can be seen on these examples.

So I’m going to order the June Tailor templates and see what comes of that!  So I think that\’s the end of my free motion challenge for this month…I’ll continue to practice, and I will make a feather I’m happy with on my sampler quilt in the next couple of weeks.

2 responses »

  1. Congrats on your new Horizon 7700 a new sewing machine is always so much fun! Your feathers are coming along nicely. The stitches are smooth and even. The tear-drop shape and echoing improve with lots and lots of practice. Well done! Bravo…I'm looking forward to your review of your Horizon 7700.

Leave a Reply

