Minglewood Sampler Quilt

Standard

I love making sampler quilts.  They are my absolute favourite type of quilt!  I enjoy the variety, the feeling of marching toward a finished quilt, one by one.  Each block gives me a different type of puzzle to fit together, the cutting can easily be done one block at a time, then put the whole thing away for another day.

Before we moved house I did a bit of stash building, and got a fat quarter bundle of some of these homespsuns. They are lovely and soft and light…I knew they’d make into something wonderful.  Then I came across the book Four Seasons at Minglewood.  A sampler quilt!  With twelve inch blocks!  I usually end up making samplers with six inch or smaller blocks, so the twelve inch size would be a nice change.  I know I could easily make my own sampler with EQ, but its nice to have a book in front of you with all the design and cutting layouts already done.

Here’s the first block, Arrow Star.  I’ve discovered that the wovens are maybe a bit too soft and light…I did a little Best Press on the fabrics I used today, they wiggled and moved everywhere, and still frayed.   But, the block still came out at 12 1/2″!  But next time I’ll  use a much heavier coating of Best Press or maybe starch.

The book has a couple of other that are wallhaning size…the Turkey Tracks is one that will likely end up on my list.

Leave a Reply

