Standard

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve enjoyed sewing a jelly roll sampler quilt for my teenage niece.  It was the first time I’ve worked with a jelly roll, and I had fun planning the colours for each block, and that the pre-cut strips made for easy sewing and easier math!  The pattern came from the book Jelly Roll Sampler Quilts by Pam and Nicky Lintott.  A lot of great patterns in this book that I’m sure I’ll be sewing!

My  niece is a tomboy, and doesn’t like anything that might be considered girl-ish.  The prints in this quilt, Grande Finale by Sandy Gervais,  did allow me to sneak in some flower-like doodles and leaves.  Her favourite colour is yellow, so that worked for the sashing.  And I chose a black solid for the setting squares and final border, to hopefully add some drama and take away anything feminine!

I also quilted a small version of Stars and Sprigs, pattern by Kim McLean.  I really have a problem with batiks, which I know makes me an odd duck amongst many quilters!  Although I like the look they give, and working with them  never seem to be in my comfort zone.  I seem to be stuck in the traditional fabric style category 🙂  I’ll be starting this quilt again, using reproduction fabrics as in the Kim’s original quilt.

One response »

  1. They are both great quilts but you know I am drawn to anything with batiks so have a favourite. I took your advice and bouaght some batiks from Connecting Threads. They are wonderful and I will order more soon.

Leave a Reply

