BunnyHill Baskets

Standard

I finally gave a home to the BunnyHill Baskets blocks, a 2009 block of the month from Anne Sutton at Bunnyhill Designs.


I do wish I had a place in my home to layout a quilt for proper pictures! This design started out as a quilt called “A Dresden Medallion” by Vicki Bellino in McCall’s Quilting Sept/Oct 2010. I thought the pattern would be well suited to all my scrappy reds I had collected. However, the english paper piecing of the dresdens was driving me nuts – let me say right here that I don’t think I ever want to attempt english paper piecing again!. After completing all but three of the dresdens, I realized this quilt would never be done because of those.

Then that wonderful lightbulb moment! The BunnyHill Baskets! The same block size as the quilt was based on! I did do a bit of redesign, eliminating the centre panel, and in the end I am so pleased with the result. The quilt is 66″ square.

As a bonus, I made this wallhanging out of the extra blocks….and I still have a few extra blocks to play with in another quilt. The picture shows a black inner border to be sewed on, I’ll have to find some border fabric that’s red with black.

Leave a Reply

