Honouring Emma (variation) and Open Window

Standard


The applique blocks in this quilt top are from a pattern called Honouring Emma, by Lori Smith.  The blue and yellow fabrics (Whisperings by Alex Anderson) were so pretty, I decided to set pieced blocks in the centre. EQ7 to the rescue, again! If you look closely at the enlarged photo, you can see I mitred the borders, and I think I did a pretty darn good job!!  The finished quilt top is 55″ x 68″.

 
 
 

This quilt I’m calling “Open  Window”  The mini churn dash blocks that make up the centre of the blocks set in this quilt had so many time outs as orphan blocks, and many settings in EQ7. I’m glad that I pursued a setting for the blocks and I very much like how it turned out – the brighter colours are change of pace for me.  I was thinking of my teenage niece when I did the setting – she has a physical handicap which means she as a very small frame. I wanted the quilt to be as narrow as I could while still using the blocks I had, that’s why the strippy borders are only on the top and bottom.  Finished quilt top is 55″ x 65″.
Leave a Reply

