Meet me at the Manor

Standard

Quiltmaker magazine has introduced a four part series quilt called Meet Me at the Manor.  I love houses, and samplers, and so I had to give a try to making this quilt from scraps.

I have collected quite a few pieces of what are to me “brights” – as compared to my usual 1800s repros I’m drawn to.  Most of these were precuts of charm squares and eighths from Connecting Threads, some pulled from my stash, many of them already having been used as experiments in other quilts.

For this quilt I took a leap and did not do any sketching or colouring on EQ!  I just went for it – which is really not in my comfort zone…I usually need to have a really good plan of what I’m putting where, especially as I don’t have a large design board to arrange pieces.

The first part of this series required quite of a bit of sewing…nine houses, and some fusible applique – here’s what I finished with and I’m really very happy with this beginning.  These blocks will be randomly spaced out throughout the top, with smaller pieced blocks and sashings filling out the centre.  I don’t think I’ll be doing the sawtooth star border that shows in the pattern (I’ve got enough stars going on with other projects!).  There are lots of options flitting around in imagination that will make up the last border, or more!

Leave a Reply

